Aurora borealis - the northern lights

 

The pulsating and multicoloured northern lights are born at a height of about 100 kilometers above ground level as electrically charged particles collide with the earth's atmosphere near the magnetic poles. Northern lights can be seen from the beginning of  September until April (but not every night). Our summertime isn't dark enough for seeing northern lights (we have the midnight sun). There are northern lights in 200 nights in Saariselkä region every year.

 

The Lonely Planet Blue List 2007 describes the northern lights as ”the World's Most Amazing Natural Phenomenon”.

 

A La Carte Lapland: http://www.alacartelapland.com

 

Arctic Academy: http://www.arcticacademy.fi

 

Aurora Borealis page by Tom Eklund: http://personal.inet.fi/koti/tom.eklund/aurora.html

 

Arctic Circle Information: http://www.arcticcircle-information.fi/northernlights.html

 

Aurora in Levi center: http://www.kittilajournal.com/aurora.htm

 

Aurora photos by Studio Tunturi-Lappi: http://www.studiotunturi-lappi.fi/ (choose Aurora on the left)

 

Auroras now: http://aurora.fmi.fi/public_service/english/start_page.html  and http://aurora.fmi.fi/public_service/english/earlier_auroras_material.html

 

Destination North - choose Nature (at the bottom of the page) > Inanimate nature > Northern Lights: http://www.northernmosteurope.com/destinationnorth/

 

Finland.com Travel Portal: http://finland.com/main-63-id.do

 

Finnish Meteorological Institute: http://www.fmi.fi/research_space/space_9.html

 

Hotel & Igloo Village Kakslauttanen (one of the best places for seeing Northern Lights): http://www.kakslauttanen.fi and http://www.travel.fi/int/kakslauttanen/

(Travel review of Saariselkä and Hotel & Igloo Village Kakslauttanen: http://emandglenn.com/holidays/kakslauttanen-hotel-igloo-village )


Jouni Jussila: http://spaceweb.oulu.fi/~jussila/aurora/

 

Kiela Naturium (Northern Lights planetarium in Muonio): http://www.laplandfinland.com/?deptid=16191&CompanyID=946&showmodul=78

 

Lapland Finland: http://www.laplandfinland.com/?deptid=16543

 

Northern lights forecast: http://cc.oulu.fi/%7Ethu/Aurora/forecast.html

 

Northern Lights paintings: http://www.revontulitaulut.com/english/etusivu.html

 

Oulu University: http://www.oulu.fi/~spaceweb/textbook/auroras.html

 

Polar Image (Aurora webcam & photos): http://www.polarimage.fi/menu/aurora.htm

 

Santa Television: http://www.santatelevision.com/northernlights/index.html

 

Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory: http://www.sgo.fi/

 

Space Weather Prediction Centre: http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/Aurora/index.html

 

Ursa: http://www.ursa.fi/ursa/jaostot/revontulet/english.html

 

Virtual Finland: http://virtual.finland.fi/netcomm/news/showarticle.asp?intNWSAID=25559 and  http://virtual.finland.fi/finfo/english/aurora_borealis.html

 

Visit Finland: http://www.visitfinland.com/w5/index.nsf/(pages)/Midnight_Sun_and_Northern_Lights?OpenDocument&np=A

 

 

Keywords: Lapland, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Scandinavia, travel, tourism, sights, attractions, links, accommodation, hotel, hotel, cottage, cottages, aurora borealis, northern lights, activities, safari, weather, snow, Rovaniemi, Saariselka, Levi, skiing, ski, nature, midnight sun, traveling, travelling, tours, flights, trip, trekking, hiking


Back to the main page Finland Travel Facts

This is the twin site of Finland Travel Club. All prices and other details may change. We don't take responsibility of any changes or mistakes.