Travelling in Finland

Travelling in Finland (car, bus, boat, airplane, train, tours - scroll down, please)

 

Fonecta maps from Finland with aerial view (search sites, addresses and routes): http://en.02.fi/map-search

 

Route planner and additional information: http://www.journey.fi/en/

 

Travel & Transport Information Service for Northern Europe: http://www.travel-and-transport.com

 

Car rental and travelling with an own car

 

Auto Alex: http://www.autoalex.com

 

Avis: http://www.avis.fi

 

Budget (Helsinki airport special internet offer): http://www.budget.fi

 

Car Rental Bevari: http://www.carrentalbevari.fi

 

Car Rent Center: http://www.autovuokrauskeskus.com

 

Europcar: http://www.europcar.fi

 

Finn Car Rental: http://www.finn-car-rental.fi

 

Finnish National Road Administration (road weather conditions etc.): http://www.tiehallinto.fi/servlet/page?_pageid=68&_dad=julia&_schema=PORTAL30&kieli=en&_pageid=68

 

Hertz: http://www.hertz.fi

 

Lacara (also a limousine service): http://www.lacara.net

 

Limousine Service (Mercedes, Cadillac Limousine e.g. for airport transfers, minibuses): http://www.limousineservice.fi/index_eng.php

 

Ministry of transport and communications: http://www.lvm.fi/web/en

 

National Road Finland: http://www.kansallisvayla.fi/kansallisvayla/english/index.php

 

Netrent: http://www.netrent.fi

 

Scandia Rent: http://www.scandiarent.fi/content/en/1/2/2.html

 

Smart Travel Rent-A-Car - the cheapest one in Finland ("rent a crap"): http://www.smart-travel.org/enindex.htm

 

Touring Cars Finland (the biggest rental office for touring cars in Scandinavia, offices in Helsinki, Kuopio, Rovaniemi, Ivalo, Stockholm and Oslo): http://www.touringcarsfinland.fi/

 

Toyota Rent: http://www.toyota.fi/rent/english/index.html

 

Transvell (cars, wagons, minibuses, vans, trucks, all-terrain vehicles): http://en.transvell.fi

 

Up to date information on road weather conditions, roadworks: http://www.tiehallinto.fi/alk/english/

 

Buses

 

Bus timetables: http://www.matkahuolto.com/en/

 

Eurolines (Central & Northern Europe, e.g. London-Riga-Tallinn-Helsinki-Lapland): http://www.eurolines.fi/index.php?action=3&act=lang&lang=eng

 

Express buses: http://www.expressbus.com

 

From Finland (Turku, Helsinki, Jyväskylä, Lappeenranta) to Russia (Vyborg and St. Petersburg): http://www.savonlinja.fi/eng/linjaliikenne/ulkomaanliikenne.html and http://www.matkahuolto.com/en/

 

Boats

 

Many boat agencies have one day cruises to Tallinn, Estonia's beautifull Hanseatic capital (passport needed). Also express boats / catamarans available. The boats sailing from Helsinki to Stockholm in Sweden are almost luxurious.

Airisto Line (Turku Archipelago & Rauma): http://www.airistoline.fi/english/index.htm

Archipelago: http://groups.msn.com/FinlandTravelClub/archipelago.msnw

 

Cruises on Saimaa Canal from Lappeenranta to Vyborg in Russia: http://www.saimaatravel.ru/canal_eng.php

 

Eckerö Line (Helsinki-Tallinn): http://www.eckeroline.fi

 

El Faro Lines (cruises on the Lake Saimaa, Lappeenranta): http://www.saimaanristeilyt.fi/

 

Ferry Center (Helsinki-Travemünde/Lübeck): http://www.ferrycenter.fi/index.php?240

 

Finnish Silverline & Poet's Way (cruises in Tampere region): http://www.hopealinja.fi/sivut/english/home.htm

 

Finn Link (Naantali Finland - Kapellskär Sweden): http://www.finnlink.fi

 

Kristina Cruises: http://www.kristinacruises.com

 

Kuopion Roll-risteilyt (route Savonlinna - Kuopio - Savonlinna, 2 days on the beautiful Lake Saimaa): http://www.saimaanlaivamatkat.fi/eng/cfmldocs/index.cfm

 

Kymi-Sun (boat trips for small groups, max about 12 persons, in Kouvola): http://www.kymisun.com/en/home

 

Lake Saimaa (boats for rent & chartering): http://www.saimaasailing.fi, http://www.yachtingdream.fihttp://www.yachtcharter.fi/ 

 

Lighthouses (sightseeing cruises or accommodation on a lighthouse island): http://groups.msn.com/FinlandTravelClub/lighthouses.msnw

 

Linda Line (Helsinki-Tallinn): http://www.lindaliini.ee/index.php?lang=eng

 

Maritime Administration: http://www.fma.fi/e/

 

M/S J.L. Runeberg: http://www.msjlruneberg.fi

-Helsinki - Porvoo (old wooden town) - Helsinki

-Helsinki - Loviisa - Helsinki

-Lunch cruises to Helsinki archipelago, Haikko Manor or Porvoo

-Also combinated nostalgic train - boat cruises to Porvoo

 

Port of Helsinki (cruises to archipelago, Tallinn in Estonia, Stockholm in Sweden etc.): http://www.portofhelsinki.fi/english/

 

Päijänne-Risteilyt Hilden (Lahti - Heinola - Lahti): http://www.paijanne-risteilythilden.fi

 

RG Line (Vaasa Finland - Umeå Sweden): http://www.rgline.com

 

Saaristolinja (Porvoo): http://www.saaristolinja.com

 

Saimaa Ferries: http://www.saimaaferries.fi/

 

Savonlinna Lines (from Savonlinna: Saimaa Lake cruises, cruises to Punkaharju National Scenery and Retretti Art Center in the Finnish primary rock): http://www.savonlinnanlaivat.com

 

Tahko Water Route: http://www.tahkonvesireitti.com/index_eng.html

 

Tallink-Silja (earlier Silja Line and Tallink, destinations Helsinki, Turku, Tallinn, Åland Islands and Stockholm, also Scandinavian rountrip cruise Riga-Stockholm-Helsinki-Tallinn, operates also the former route of Superfast Ferries from Rostock to Helsinki): http://www.tallinksilja.com/en/

 

Viking Line (Helsinki-Stockholm via Åland Islands, Helsinki-Tallinn, Turku-Stockholm): http://www.vikingline.fi/index.asp?lang=en

 

Flights (also low cost airlines, no frills airlines, budget airlines)

 

Air Baltic: http://www.airbaltic.com

 

Air Berlin: http://www.airberlin.com

 

Air Finland: http://www.airfinland.fi and http://www.airfinland.fi/oy_air_finland_ltd_in_english/?SHOPLANG=en 

 

Air Åland (Helsinki - Mariehamn/Maarianhamina): http://www.airaland.com

 

Blue1: http://www.blue1.fi/en/

 

Cheap flights from the USA to Finland: http://www.cheapflights.com/flights/Helsinki/

 

EasyJet (London - Helsinki): http://www.easyjet.com

 

Finavia: http://www.finavia.fi/home

 

Finnair - the official airline of Santa Claus: http://www.finnair.com

 

Finnish Commuter Airlines: http://www.fc.fi/home/

 

Jetflite Air Charter Service: http://www.jetflite.fi

 

Ryanair (destinations from Tampere, Finland: Bremen, Dublin, Frankfurt-Hahn, London-Stansted, Milan-Bergamo, Riga): http://www.ryanair.com

 

Sky Scanner (cheap flights): http://www.skyscanner.net

 

Wingo: Stockholm/Bromma (Sweden) - Turku - Tampere - Oulu (Finland): http://www.wingo.fi

 

Wizz Air (Gdansk, Poland - Turku, Finland): http://wizzair.com

 

The airport of Helsinki-Vantaa (the best airport in the world according to Global Airport Monitor annual survey carried out by the International Air Transport Association IATA a couple of years ago): http://www.finavia.fi/home

 

The Helsinki-Vantaa international airport is situated 22 kilometers (14 miles) north of Helsinki. The best way to get in the city is to travel by Finnair buses. They operate from 5.45 a.m. to 1.10 a.m. about every 20 minutes (platform 1A outside the international terminal T2, travel time about 35 minutes, bus fare about 5.2 €, with Helsinki Card 3.6 €). For exact timetables see http://www.finnair.com/filecontent/com/citybus_com.txt . The service is good and fast and there is room for your luggage in the bus. Local buses number 615 are a bit cheaper (one-way ticket 3.6 €, platform 21 outside the international terminal, estimated travel time 35 minutes). For timetables see http://aikataulut.ytv.fi/linjat/en/s615.html (Rautatientori = from the city centre / railway station, platform 5, to the airport; Lentoasema = from the airport, platform 21, to the city centre / railway station). Taxi cabs are much more expensive (price about 25-30 euros) but very clean and reliable. Tikkurila is the nearest railway station. You can take the bus 61 from the airport to Tikkurila station for railway connections. See timetables at http://aikataulut.ytv.fi/linjat/en/v61.html.

 

Helsinki-Vantaa Airport Hotels: http://groups.msn.com/FinlandTravelClub/airporthotels.msnw

 

Trains

 

Finnish National Railways (timetables in Finland, also trains to Russia): http://www.vr.fi/heo/eng/index.html  

 

Railway Page for Finland: http://www.kotimaki.com/rautatie/

 

Scanrail - the Scandinavian Rail Pass: http://www.scanrail.com



Back to the main page Finland Travel Facts

This is the twin site of Finland Travel Club. All prices and other details may change. We don't take responsibility of any changes or mistakes.